

## The Leith Trophy

Was awarded to the fastest team from outside the Surrey Group. Its sister trophy, the Gibbet Trophy, was awarded to the fastest Surrey team. A team consisted of at least 3 walkers who had to walk the entire route as a group. The fastest 3 were rewarded with their names on the trophy.



In 1985 (see Archives entry <u>https://www.ldwa.org.uk/lgt/downloads/Surrey/</u><u>SS\_Docs/SS85\_reportresults.PDF</u>) the method of awarding the trophies was changed. This was done to 'discourage running' and rather than being awarded to the team with the 3 fastest aggregate times it was awarded to the groups with the most finishers. Hence the absence of names for the '85, '86' & '87 events.

It was probably in the late 80's that the awarding of the trophies was discontinued. It's difficult to be any more precise than that since our archives for the Summits is incomplete over that period.

The Leith trophy currently resides with the Kent Group (Brian Buttifant).