## LDWA SURREY GROUP 43rd Surrey Inns Kanter Oxted 2/1/2017 REPORT AND RESULTS

The 43rd edition of the Kanter was held in the Oxted area for the second time. There were 62 entries in all, up from 2016 despite a clash with another challenge walk and growing uncertainty over trains or rather lack of them.

As last year the area has largely survived the latest round of pub closures, apart from one at Bletchingley crossroads. The most historic pub was the Red Lion, the third pub at Bletchingley, with parts dating from 1309. After that the next oldest pub was The Whyte Harte also at Bletchingley going back to 1388 and The Bell at Godstone dating from 1393. The newest pub visited was the purpose-built in 1997 Wetherspoon's Oxted Inn, and the next newest was the attractively sited Inn On The Pond in Nutfield Marsh dating from 1989, although the building itself goes back to 1650.

The weather on the day was fine and sunny, the best on this bank holiday for a while, with conditions underfoot good, apart from an unexpected stretch of lane near the M23 which was awash with water.

The diversion around the construction works was less of a problem than expected, a visit during the Xmas holidays had established the detour had got no worse.

The beer mat was introduced for the first time this year, it is hoped that these will become collectibles in future years.

Most walkers and runners managed the route in good time, the inaugural use of the Pacer software being put to effect, with much time saving.

If you see any errors in the results, can you please let me know and I'll get the web page updated.

David Hoben Organiser 04/01/2017

LONG ROUTE 20 MILES		Group, Club	Time out	Time in	Time awarded
1	Keith MacIntosh	Wimbledon Windmilers	09:48	11:52	02:04
2	Tom Stroud	Southdowns Orienteers	10:06	13:15	03:09
3	Jeff Campbell	LDWA Surrey	09:18	13:07	03:49
4	Dave Whitehead	LDWA	09:18	13:07	03:49
5	Rush Yadave	LDWA	09:18	13:07	03:49
6	Trevor Beeston	LDWA Sussex	08:55	13:39	04:44
7	Flip Bakker	LDWA	08:55	14:04	05:09
8	Gavin Fuller	LDWA	08:48	14:04	05:16
9	Chris Blackwell	LDWA London	09:39	15:10	05:31
10	Marta Kunicka	LDWA London	09:38	15:10	05:32
11	Jim Catchpole	LDWA Essex/Herts	08:59	15:01	06:02
12	Jill Green	LDWA Kent	08:59	15:01	06:02

## 43rd Surrey Inns Kanter RESULTS (continued)

SHORT ROUTE 12 MILES		Group, Club	Time out	Time in	Time awarded
1	Roger Powell		09:45	12:10	02:25
2	-		10:15	12:10	02:23
	Stephan Trabugatti			12:52	
3	Steven Insua-Cao		10:15		02:37
4	Tom Hartnett	W/inchiodon W/inchiologo	10:15	12:53	02:38
5	Bernadette Maher	Windhilers	09:42	12:20	02:38
6	Ella Waddingham	Wimbledon Windmilers	09:42	12:20	02:38
7	Claire Morgan	LDWA/Wimbledon Windmilers	10:26	13:37	03:11
8	Barbara Thompson	LDWA	09:36	12:59	03:23
9	Matt Thompson	LDWA	09:36	12:59	03:23
10	Peter Berry	LDWA Kent	09:31	13:20	03:49
11	Fay Stevenson		09:55	13:54	03:59
12	Tracey Sanders		09:55	13:54	03:59
13	Tim Bedwell	LDWA	09:48	13:48	04:00
14	Bruce Dunbar		10:03	14:04	04:01
15	David Nash	LDWA Sussex	09:30	13:32	04:02
16	Julie Tremble	LDWA	09:07	13:29	04:22
17	Philip Tremble	LDWA	09:07	13:29	04:22
18	Barbara Copson		09:19	13:49	04:30
19	Martin Holland	LDWA/Highgate	09:19	13:49	04:30
20	Fiona Nutburn	LDWA Kent	08:52	13:31	04:39
21	Merv Nutburn	LDWA Kent	08:52	13:31	04:39
22	Nicole Carbonara	LDWA	09:00	13:39	04:39
23	lan Lambert	LDWA Sussex	09:51	14:34	04:43
24	Jane Lambert	LDWA Sussex	09:51	14:34	04:43
25	Susan Carnell	LDWA Surrey	09:24	14:09	04:45
26	Stewart McIntyre	LDWA Surrey	09:24	14:10	04:46
27	Judith Bowron	LDWA Sussex	10:22	15:18	04:56
28	Charles Leonard	LDWA/Wimbledon Windmilers	10:06	15:04	04:58
29	Richard Goulder	LDWA	09:34	14:36	05:02
30	Katherine Morgan	LDWA	09:34	14:36	05:02
31	Wendy Hayter	LDWA Surrey	09:15	14:36	05:21
32	Bill Young	LDWA	10:15	15:40	05:25
33	Fran Kenden		09:28	15:15	05:47
34	Dave Wright		09:28	15:15	05:47
35	Phillip Russell		09:41	15:33	05:52
36	John Deacon	Meopham Footpath	09:41	15:33	05:52
37	John Cackett		09:41	15:33	05:52
38	Martin Obee		09:40	15:33	05:53
39	Michael Obee		09:40	15:33	05:53
40	Michael Johnson	LDWA	10:26	16:32	06:06
41	Richard Johnson	LDWA	10:26	16:32	06:06
42	Jane Bates	LDWA Sussex	09:30	15:40	06:10
43	Rob Foster	LDWA Sussex	09:30	15:40	06:10
44	Michael White	LDWA/Mole Valley OC	09:36	15:57	06:21
45	Christine Thornley	, ,	10:09	16:30	06:21
46	Andy Thornley		10:09	16:30	06:21
47	Mark Boyt		10:09	16:30	06:21
48	Juliet Boyt		10:09	16:30	06:21
49	Nick Boyt		10:09	16:30	06:21
50	Lucas Boyt		10:09	16:30	06:21
			10.05	10.50	00.21

Acknowledgements: Entries/start/finish/results Refreshments Artwork

Tony Cartwright, Mary Dumble Mary Dumble, Ann Sayer Mike Harding, Justin Kinsey, Medals for All