Latest News: The LDWA 50th Hundred Read more

Discussion Forum - Gear ! - GPS: handheld, watch or smartphone?

Author: Mark Webb
Posted: Sun 5th Jan 2020, 11:05
Local Group: Norfolk & Suffolk
In the past I've recommended the Toughphone Defender Pro which I've been using for the last 3 years, It's a great phone but I recently broke the screen and battery fixing so it's no longer waterproof, so useless for hiking and wild camping. I've had to buy a new phone and have purchased the new Ulefone Amor 3W reviewed here: https://wildwalkinguk.com/2020/01/02/ulefone-armor-3w-rugged-smartphone-review/ . It was cheaper and has a much longer battery life. I've been very impressed so far, the GPS is quick and it was fast to sort and add the 1/50,000 OS (for the whole of the UK) mapping that I use. It even transferred all the saved routes from my old phone. I will keep updating the above review of the phone as I test it and learn more.
I couldn't think of doing any of the walks I've done without one of these rugged waterproof phones. Cape Wrath Trail in 2017. TGO Challenge in 2018, LEJOG+ 3 Peaks in 2019 and Scottish National, Pennine Way and Skye Trail planned for 2020. wildwalkinguk
Author: Paul Green
Posted: Wed 6th Nov 2019, 19:08
Local Group: Cornwall & Devon
Been using my smartphone.....but thinking of getting a Fenix.

Thoughts appreciated?
Author: Mark Webb
Posted: Tue 21st May 2019, 8:01
Local Group: Norfolk & Suffolk
I have all the Uk OS Landranger 1/50,000 maps (which I did have to buy £60) loaded on my Tough Phone Defender Pro.
This phone works when there is no phone signal. It is a totally independent GPS so links to the maps to show me where I am, any where in the Uk.
I have walked LEJOG this year without needing paper maps. It was also great on the Cape Wrath trail in 2017 and the TGO Challenge 2018.
Having the Phone, GPS and Camera in one unit has been a revelation, It has saved me days of walking on the above walks and reduced the stress when walking so remote.