Latest News: The LDWA 50th Hundred Read more

Discussion Forum - Long Distance Paths - Why do we need LDPs?

Author: Sue Allonby
Posted: Tue 26th Jun 2007, 10:28
Although I'm not really a fan of actual waymarks for specific trails, I do enjoy following the routes - especially in areas where I might not otherwise have been walking. There are several routes on my own doorstep (Pendle Way, Bronte Way, Burnley Way, Pennine Bridleway etc etc) which I've enjoyed mainly because they're close and yet all include sections that were 'new' to me, and which I probably wouldn't have explored otherwise. Thier status as 'routes' also often means that stiles etc. are kept in reasonable repair.
Author: Dennis Gilbert
Posted: Mon 25th Jun 2007, 18:52
Local Group: Bristol & West
I have been walking LDP's for several years and enjoy them particularly because the people who devised them have gone to considerable trouble to find the best route between two points or to find a circular route embracing the same ideals. But I do agree that those I have enjoyed the most have not been waymarked at all and I am referring to the Cambrian Way, which was superb, and the Cape Wrath Trail which was also good.
Author: Mike Rayner
Posted: Sun 1st Oct 2006, 18:22
Local Group: Northumbria
Four answers

For an inexperienced walker's first 20/25 mile walk ever, a well presented guide to a LDP is a reassurance that there will be a route to follow on the ground.

I'm quite happy to devise a route in an area I know, but in foreign parts, or if I want a day walk on holiday, then the local LDP is a quick way of making a walk up. This year's examples were the Saints Way and the SW Way in Cornwall.

At least when they were being set up, LDPs did attract some financial support from central government, which means new rights of way, bridges and stiles. An example is the Hadrians Wall Path where many new RoW were created