Latest News: The LDWA 50th Hundred Read more

Discussion Forum - Long Distance Paths - Pennine Way for Crisis UK 2013

Author: Rose Hakin
Posted: Thu 3rd Jan 2013, 0:27
Local Group: Northumbria
Thanks for your replies. It is really useful to compare notes about different aspects of the walk. I am trying to keep my pack weight down and have managed to get the sleep, shelter and stove in at 2.3kg so I am hoping that will be manageable. I am new to wild camping and a bit apprehensive for the bits where I am on my own which probably sounds silly.The Jetsol stove is only 465g so not significant for the advantage of being a bit more flexible but I'm sure I won't want dehydrated food for the whole time

Rose
Author: Elton Ellis
Posted: Mon 31st Dec 2012, 18:38
Local Group: Surrey
I did this in 2009, S to N, alone. I slept in campsites at Dufton and Bryness, YHs at Malham and Kirk Yetholm, a kindly couple’s garden shed at Kirkhaugh (heavy rain), but wild camped the rest of the way. I would start looking for a spot to camp about 20 minutes before nightfall, and would generally find one within 30-40 minutes.

My pack weighed 13kg, but with modern gear you can get this down to 8kg. That’s what the hard men and women on the Spine Race (Pennine Way in January) carry, including tent, sleeping bag, food, coffin (just kidding – the organisers supply the coffins direct to the checkpoints). It’s really worth minimising weight, for a heavy pack not only slows you down, it makes the whole trip less enjoyable.