Latest News: Social Walks Coordinator Read more

Latest News: 50th Anniversary Events Read more

Latest News: Reminder to book for the AGM weekend Read more

Latest News: The Year in Review - December 2021 Read more

Latest News: New Year's Resolution? Read more



Challenge Events

A Challenge Event is a walk mostly on footpaths and other Public Rights of Way (PROWs), across open fields and moors, avoiding tarmac as much as possible. The challenge is to the individual, e.g. 30 miles in 10 hours, it is NOT a race. The distances include at least one option over 20 miles - commonly 25, 26.2 ( Marathon) - with walks over 50 miles, e.g. 62 miles (100 kilometres) in 26 hours giving qualification for the LDWA's 'flagship' Event, held over the Spring Bank Holiday weekend in a different part of the country each year, namely, a Hundred Miles in 48 hours, with a limit of 500 participants.

Search For Challenge Event

By default this page shows a summary of all LDWA events occurring in the next 365 days. Please use the following options to choose the types of events you wish to see, then click on either the Show as Map or Show as List buttons. To see all events just click on one of the buttons without setting any options. To remove all options use the Clear button.

Events found. Scroll down to view.
of

Results:

Dateclick to sort Nameclick to sort Typeclick to sort Mileage Organiserclick to sort
Mon 24th Jan - Mon 11th Apr 2022 Spring in Lakeland 50 'ANYTIME' 12 April 21 - 11 April 22 - New Date Challenge  50, 36, 34, 32, 18 or 16ml. Lakeland
Sat 29th Jan 2022 Winter Poppyline Marshals Walk Challenge  50ml. Norfolk & Suffolk
Sun 30th Jan 2022 CoSARC Stonehenge Stomp - Event Full Challenge  25, 19, 12, 6 or 3ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 30th Jan 2022 That's Lyth 40th Event Challenge  23.5ml. Lakeland
Sat 5th Feb 2022 Rombald Stride Winter Challenge - Event Full Challenge  23ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 12th Feb 2022 Anglezarke Amble Challenge  24 or 17ml. West Lancashire
Sat 12th - Sun 13th Feb 2022 The Winter Poppyline 2022 Challenge  50ml. Norfolk & Suffolk
Sun 13th Feb 2022 51st Punchbowl Marathon - Event Details Updated Challenge  30 or 20ml. Surrey
Sat 19th Feb 2022 The South Pennine 24 - Event Details Updated Challenge  24ml. South Pennine
Sat 26th Feb 2022 39th South Shropshire Circular - Event Details Updated Challenge  25ml. Marches
Sat 5th Mar 2022 Saddleworth Ten Res's - Event Full Challenge  26ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 6th Mar 2022 4th Hannington Hike - Event Details Updated Challenge  27, 18 or 14ml. Beds, Bucks & N'hants
Sat 19th Mar 2022 The Kettlewell Challenge  23ml. North Yorkshire
Sun 20th Mar 2022 36th Two Crosses Circuit Challenge  25 or 17ml. East Lancashire
Sun 20th Mar 2022 Sevenoaks Circular Walk Challenge  32, 22 or 17ml. Kent
Sun 27th Mar 2022 Blubberhouses Moor Challenge  24ml. Nidderdale
Fri 1st - Sat 30th Apr 2022 Friends of the North Highland Way Challenge - Event Details Updated Challenge  137ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 2nd Apr 2022 31st Allendale Challenge Challenge  26ml. Northumbria
Sat 2nd Apr 2022 Five Trigs Challenge  18.5ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 2nd - Sun 3rd Apr 2022 Shropshire Way 80K Festival Challenge  50, 26 or 13ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 2nd Apr 2022 The Three Shires Challenge  30, 28, 23 or 21ml. Staffordshire
Sun 3rd Apr 2022 The Cyril Bean 23rd Annual 'A Coventry Way Challenge' Challenge  40ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 9th Apr 2022 42nd Calderdale Hike Challenge  36, 26 or 16ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 9th Apr 2022 Peak District 70th Birthday Bash Challenge  45 or 21ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 9th - Sun 10th Apr 2022 The Woldsman 2022 Challenge  50ml. East Yorkshire
Sat 9th Apr 2022 Wensleydale Wander Challenge  23 or 12.9ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 10th Apr 2022 10th Essex Walker Challenge  26.4 or 17.5ml. Essex & Herts
Sun 10th Apr 2022 Spring in Lakeland Challenge  24ml. Lakeland
Sat 23rd Apr 2022 Black Dragon Challenge Challenge  30, 26 or 19ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 23rd Apr 2022 Rodent Wriggle Marshals Walk Challenge  31 or 23ml. Norfolk & Suffolk
Sun 24th Apr 2022 20th Valleys & Views Challenge  26.2, 16 or 7ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 24th Apr 2022 Devonshire Dumpling Challenge  32.5 or 20ml. Cornwall & Devon
Sun 24th Apr 2022 Offa's Twisted Wye Kanter 4 Challenge  25, 22, 15 or 12ml. South Wales
Sun 24th Apr 2022 Pewsey Downsaround Challenge  35, 26, 16 or 12ml. Wiltshire
Sun 24th Apr 2022 South Downs Marathon Challenge  28ml. Sussex
Sat 30th Apr 2022 The Oxon 40/20 Challenge  c40 or c20ml. Thames Valley
Sat 30th Apr - Mon 2nd May 2022 The Trans-Pennine 100 Marshals Event Challenge  100ml. Vermuyden
Sat 30th Apr 2022 The Wolds 20 Challenge  20 or 13ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 7th May 2022 Ridgeway 40 Walk Challenge  40ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 7th May 2022 The 12th Marsden Moors and The Marsden Moors Marathon Challenge  26.2, 23 or 18ml. The Irregulars
Sun 8th May 2022 Meridian Meander - Event Cancelled Challenge  26 or 18ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 8th May 2022 Rodent Wriggle Challenge  31, 23 or 13.5ml. Norfolk & Suffolk
Sat 14th May 2022 Clun Valley Challenge Walk 2022 Challenge  26 or 16ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 14th May 2022 Sandstone Trail Challenge Challenge  33ml. (Non LDWA)
Tue 17th - Tue 31st May 2022 Bishop's Castle Round & About Walks 'ANYTIME' 17 - 30 May 22 Challenge  23, 13, 10, 7 or 3ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 21st May 2022 The Chawton Challenge Challenge  30 or 20ml. Wessex
Sat 28th - Sun 29th May 2022 4th Llangollen Round Challenge Challenge  35ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 29th May 2022 Pick and Mix Challenge  pick, mix, 12, 8, 6 or 5ml. Beds, Bucks & N'hants
Wed 1st Jun - Sun 31st Jul 2022 Cotswold Ring 'ANYTIME' 1 June - 31 July 2022 Challenge  52ml. Bristol & West
Fri 3rd - Sun 5th Jun 2022 The Trans-Pennine 100 Challenge  100ml. Vermuyden
Sat 11th Jun 2022 51st Six Shropshire Summits Challenge Walk Challenge  36ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 12th Jun 2022 Settle Saunter Challenge  23, 13 or 6.5ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 18th Jun 2022 30th Durham Dales Challenge Challenge  30 or 14ml. Northumbria
Sat 18th Jun 2022 Baslow Boot Bash Challenge  26 or 14ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 18th Jun 2022 Farthingstone Foot Fest Challenge  26, 15, 13 or 11ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 18th Jun 2022 Heldon Hill Midnight Sun and Beach BBQ Challenge Challenge  25ml. North of Scotland
Sat 18th Jun 2022 Rotary Across Wales Walk Challenge  47, 26, 16 or 8ml. (Non LDWA)
Fri 24th - Sun 26th Jun 2022 Snowdonia Challenge Challenge  62.5ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 26th Jun 2022 Herts Hobble 2022 Challenge  26.5 or 17ml. Essex & Herts
Sat 2nd Jul 2022 Ulfkil Stride 2022 Challenge Challenge  24ml. West Yorkshire
Sat 9th Jul 2022 Hallow 12 Parish Challenge Challenge  40, 26, 18, 14 or 10ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 16th - Sun 17th Jul 2022 AFoot in Two Dales Challenge  50ml. The Irregulars
Sat 13th Aug 2022 Open to Offas Challenge  23 or 15.5ml. Merseystride
Sat 27th Aug 2022 33rd Smugglers Trod Challenge  25 or 17ml. Yorkshire Coast
Thu 1st Sep 2022 Cotswold Challenge 'ANYTIME' 1 - 30 September 2022 Challenge  26 or 18ml. Bristol & West
Sat 3rd Sep 2022 59th Across Wales Walk Challenge  45ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 3rd - Sun 4th Sep 2022 Limestone 50 Challenge  50ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 3rd - Sun 4th Sep 2022 Peveril 33 Challenge  33ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 3rd - Sun 4th Sep 2022 The Bullock Smithy Hike Challenge  56ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 16th Oct 2022 38th Gatliff Marathon Challenge  31.5 or 15ml. (Non LDWA)

This website uses cookies

To comply with EU Directives we are informing you that our website uses cookies for services such as memberships and Google Analytics.

Your data is completely safe and we do not record any personally identifiable information.

Please click the button to acknowledge and approve our use of cookies during your visit.

Learn more about the Cookie Law